Justice

Photo by Zack Jarosz on Pexels.com

Justice

In my home office
No one uses too much creamer 

But I always have to be the one to make the coffee
In my home office

I pull a tarot card to kick off the morning 
It was this or finally start that yoga or meditation thing

It’s a major arcana, from my Goddess deck, and it is me, well, my name 
The origins of my name, Gwenhwyfar, which means, wait for it 

White ghost, white enchantress, white fay
And really, I am psyched about that because 

How did the ancients know so much about me? 
The card has a woman, a Queen, Gwenhwyfar holding a sword

And a man, with a crown, kneeling – and it says that 
It is time for a major and necessary change in life – that it is 

Big stuff but I have confidence to do it  – 
I secretly and not so secretly wonder what it might feel like 

To have confidence in anything 
In my home office I say I am going to start 

Doing the things, finally I am going to take this 
Motivation and well, find it and then run with it, and then 

Make something of myself out of it all 
I woke up at 3am last night, bam, wide awake 

Once again thinking of things of old, now gone, things of sentimental value 
That I personally tossed into the trash because I felt 

It was time to move on, make room for the new, open up space 
My magic is rusty, my grief is rude 

And this aimless ambition is irksome 
After so long, when I thought by now I would be some kind of 

Divine Feminine Powerhouse 
Calmly walking through the world with my smashing hammer and my 

Judgment sword, 
A free woman in a better world 

Justice, my only job.

©Jenny Justice. All Rights Reserved.

Jenny‌ ‌Justice‌, Poet.‌ ‌Sociologist. Teacher. Mother. Woman. Author‌ ‌of‌ ‌Love‌ ‌in‌ ‌the‌ ‌Time‌ ‌of‌ ‌Climate‌ ‌Change‌ ‌and‌ ‌Reveal.‌ ‌You‌ ‌can‌ ‌read‌ ‌more‌ ‌of‌ ‌her‌ ‌poetry‌ ‌at‌‌ ‌Justice‌ ‌Poetic.‌‌  ‌‌Sign‌ ‌up‌ ‌for‌ ‌her‌ ‌newsletter‌ ‌‌here‌.‌ Follow her on jennyjusticepoet.com.

Published by Jenny Justice

Jenny ‌Justice‌, Poet.‌ ‌Sociologist. Teacher. Mother. Woman. Author‌ ‌of‌ ‌Love‌ ‌in‌ ‌the‌ ‌Time‌ ‌of‌ ‌Climate‌ ‌Change‌ ‌and‌ ‌Reveal.‌ ‌

Leave a comment